Remembering God in the Stream of Life

Arthur Bennett once wrote:

“I have seen the purity and beauty of thy perfect law,
the happiness of those in whose heart it reigns,
the calm dignity of the walk to which it calls, yet I daily violate and [condemn] its precepts.”

The Valley of Vision, 1975, p 70.

I would imagine that Mr. Bennett wrote with a desire to walk in fellowship with God, and yet he recognized there were times he didn’t.  I live in that world.

In the morning, while I have my quiet time of reading the Bible and praying, I have a desire to walk with God, honor Him, and do his will during the whole day.  If I picture my activities of the day as being a stream, I see myself sitting on the edge of the stream as I read my Bible and pray.  When I am done, I step into the stream of life and begin walking, following the course of the stream.  Walking in a stream one has to pay close attention to the stream bed.  Sometimes there is sand, sometimes muck, sometimes pebbles, sometimes rock ledge, sometimes shifting rocks covered with slippery algae.  One has to concentrate on the stream bed, the current, and the flow of the water.

As I sit by the stream bank, I am full of resolve for how I will walk in fellowship with God, but as I step into the stream of life, immediately I find that I am preoccupied with not slipping off that stone, not losing my sandals in this muck, not sliding off that slippery rock ledge.  Or, in my real world, I am preoccupied with answering this email, making this telephone call, running this errand, etc.  I find myself totally having forgotten my earlier resolve to glorify God in my life as I step from one slippery rock to another.

This brings me to pray, “Dear God, as I step into the stream of life today, help me to remember You, your Lordship in my life, your worthiness of worship and praise, and your desires for my life — as I interact with my family, fulfill my responsibilities, run my errands, and have opportunities to point others to You.”

Like the poet, my heart’s desire is to please God, and let his perfect law reign in my heart that I might walk in dignity before him while navigating the Stream of Life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

